The Dollhouse

The Dollhouse

Large Print - 2016
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
Davis's impeccably structured debut is equal parts mystery, tribute to midcentury New York City, and classic love story. It showcases the intersection of two women's lives at the famed Barbizon Hotel, whose notable residents included Joan Didion, Grace Kelly, and Sylvia Plath. In the present day, journalist Rose is kicked out of her upscale condo at the former hotel for women after her lover reunites with his wife. While doing research for an article on the grisly 1953 death of Barbizon maid Esme, she stays in the apartment of reclusive octogenarian tenant Darby. Darby, who has been a Barbizon resident for over 50 years, knew Esme and was connected to her demise. Rose's investigation quickly becomes her obsession and refuge when her father becomes ill, her career implodes, and her hopes for a relationship with her married lover fade. "I need to know... how to start again," Rose says as she digs to the bottom of the mystery of Esme's death. Darby and Rose, in alternating chapters, weave intricate threads into twists and turns that ultimately bring them together; the result is good old-fashioned suspense. Through the two characters, Davis juxtaposes the elegance and dark side of a bygone era-its jazz, glamorous models, career-minded women, and nascent heroin market-with the crass, digitally obsessed, and cutthroat media world of today. What crosses the divide is the chance for disappointment and loss to give way to purpose and love. Agent: Stefanie Lieberman, Janklow & Nesbit. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
Publisher: Waterville, Maine :, Wheeler Publishing,, 2016
Edition: Large Print edition
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9781410494528
1410494527
Characteristics: 477 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
large print,rda

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

w
weezie1
Oct 09, 2017

A great book! It has a wonderful story line and I love to read about the 1950's activities taken on by the ladies of those era. I was a great book to take on vacation and have some down time to enjoy the adventures. The journalist and her partner at work was a great mix. Oct 2017

r
reader7176
Jul 20, 2017

Really good book for first time author Fiona Davis, I have read books before that had young women living in Barbizon Hotel for Women. It really interested me to learn the background of the Barbizon Hotel and the lives of the women who lived there. A well written and entertaining book. Look forward to more from this author.

AL_KATHY May 26, 2017

This quick read is set in 1952 New York City Barbizon Hotel for Women and 2016 Barbizon turned Condos. The story, setting and historical details makes this book come alive and tells the story of women many would overlook.

m
MHanover10
Mar 16, 2017

I loved this book! It was such a fascinating story! I remember reading about the rooming houses in New York where women could go and there were set rules they had to follow. I didn't know this one was famous with several famous people living there like Sylvia Plath (one month) and Liza Minelli. I liked how the story went back in time to 1952 when things were actually happening to 2016 with Rose doing research for her article. The ending did have a twist and then another twist. This was so well worth my time!

m
marthabwaters
Mar 05, 2017

I wanted to love this, but I couldn't manage it. This is a dual-timeline story, with alternating chapters from 1952 and 2016, in which the characters in the present uncover the details of a mystery from the past. And I won't deny that the way Davis structured this book was clever; you never doubt that she knows exactly what she's doing, every step of the way. However--HOWEVER. The main character in the present, Rose, sincerely acts like a lunatic for much of this book, and it got hard to read about by the end. Davis' writing style is pretty workmanlike, too -- there's no sparkle to really draw you into the prose itself. I'd recommend this as a readalike for fans of Beatriz William's and Lauren Willig's books, with the caveat that, while Davis has a knack for plotting, she's not as skilled a writer as either of those other two authors.

d
D061145902
Feb 28, 2017

I loved this book. It was interesting to read this after I read The Girl Before. Both books deal with women who live in the present and in the past and have a mysterious building in their stories. Read both.

d
dentongirl13
Feb 16, 2017

I didn't find it very intriguing. There was part of me that want to keep reading to solve the mystery, but I ended up quitting part way through. I think it was mostly the writing style; I just wasn't engaging.

AL_JANEC Nov 12, 2016

Combine the allure of the grande dame edifice of the Barbizon Hotel in New York City with a mysterious death, add in two compelling, strong and intriguing female characters, then sprinkle with the spice of the story line alternating between the present and the 1950s and you have all of the ingredients to make THE DOLLHOUSE a most delicious read.

shoshanalibrarian Aug 24, 2016

The Barbizon Hotel, aka "The Dollhouse," ties together the stories of two women in two different eras in New York City. Rose, a journalist living in present-day New York, lives at the Barbizon, formerly the Barbizon Hotel for Women, which has been converted into condos. She becomes curious about the older women who live there, who have been there since the days when it was a hotel exclusively for women and housed ladies such as Sylvia Plath and Joan Didion. She is particularly intrigued by Darby McLaughlin, a reclusive tenant who always wears hats with veils to hide her face, especially after she finds out that she does so to hide her scars from an incident in the early 1950s that resulted in her face being slashed and a maid at the hotel falling to her death. Rose smells a story, and begins to investigate, the pursuit of what happened to Darby becoming her lifeline as her own life begins to fall apart. The book is told in alternating chapters between Rose in 2016 and Darby in 1952. Darby is fresh from the Midwest, attending the Katie Gibbs Secretarial School to please to overbearing mother. She is completely out of her element, but starts to fall in love with the city. She befriends a maid at the hotel, Esme, who introduces her to a whole different side of New York - the gritty jazz clubs - and Darby starts to come out of her shell, finding a part of herself she never knew. What happened that fateful night? Is Darby who she says she is? This is a great novel about women in different times struggling with the same essential questions of self and self-determination, with a touch of mystery and suspense to keep the pages turning. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top