Wicked Like A Wildfire

Wicked Like A Wildfire

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
1
Baker & Taylor
A debut entry in a fantasy duology introduces a pair of twin sisters who learn, in the wake of a mysterious attack on their mother, that their secret abilities to infuse beauty into nature, art and music are linked to a family curse. Simultaneous eBook.

HARPERCOLL

“Lush. Delicious. Bewildering. And darkly magical. Popovic has created a world that you tumble into from the very first words and wish you could stay in forever.” —Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown's Game

Wicked Like a Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit—it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more.” —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates—and hearts—of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. 

But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

Wicked Like a Wildfire is the first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.



Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books,, 2017
ISBN: 9780062436856
0062436856
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360
Alternative Title: Axis 360 eBooks

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLChrisK Jun 11, 2018

Sensual and atmospheric. This book is abounding with beautiful, lush descriptions of sights, smells, tastes, feelings, and sounds that delight. The setting almost becomes a character. And the characters are fully fleshed-out people who develop over the course of the story. The magic is evocative and enchanting. In many ways, it is a feast.

I almost give it four stars. Readers who revel in this type of feast will bump that up to five. I, however, bump it down one for a complaint I rarely have: it took me forever to get through this because I needed more to happen; I was bogged down in all the descriptions and was starved for more tangible action.

Nevertheless, it's an enticing story and I'm tempted to seek out the sequel. It's well worth considering.

Age

Add Age Suitability

a
Andreashih
Jun 06, 2018

Andreashih thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top